Kelly

Digital painting of Kelly. She is smiling with her mouth closed and her head tilted. She is Caucasian with brown short hair, black glasses and a dark green coat. The background is dark purple with a darker purple abstract design.
Kelly

Please share about yourself, your experience with the Disability Assistance Benefit, and anything else you would like people to know.

I am a single 45-year-old woman with no children. I live in New Westminster BC. My interests include crafting, being with friends and family. My disabilities are in the category as unseen- Fibromyalgia, Myofascial Pain Syndrome, Bipolar, Borderline Personality Disorder, Diabetic insulin dependent, L5S1injury in the back that requires surgery.

I have worked since I was 16. I had my own condo. Then I was injured on a job with Rogers that has made it so that I needed back surgery. So, I applied for PWD in July of 2014. The process was lengthy and a lot of expense to have the Doctor fill out all the forms. I was accepted and started receiving the funds in November of 2014.

After I was on PWD they forced me to apply for CPPD- thankfully I was denied. I say this as BC claws back any CPP funds as unearned income.

You learn quickly on PWD that you are not seen as an equal, you are merely tolerated. I have my Mom and niece and nephew to thank as they help me get through each month, as there is not enough money to cover all the expenses and eat. I no longer have my independence= I am lucky though as my family does not treat me differently.

Trying to stay positive on PWD on a normal day is difficult- we are doing it in a pandemic where the Federal government gave the regular working people $2000, yet we on disability are to survive on $1180. this definitely showed us where we were in the importance of society, or lack there of.

What do you dream support for people with disabilities could look like?

My dream would be: first remove us from the Welfare Offices as it is two separate matters and payment levels. Also, a universal basic income where we are out of poverty with social programs standing.

Likes / Loves:

I love gothic/eccentric styles. Colours = purple, black, teals. Animal is Owl. and I love the ocean- mermaids.

Published by rozmaclean

B.C. based artist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s